Cogeco

by cogeco

3.6/5
Average Ratings 29 Reviews
Overall
3.6/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Service
3.8/5
Provider Details
Starting Price
CA$39.95/Monthly
Pricing Details
Talk to sales at: 1-877-846-7863
Banner

Cogeco Business Phone Service Reviews

About Cogeco

Cogeco is a cable operator whose two-way broadband cable network provides Internet, video, and telephone services to small business customers. Cogeco is a telecommunications company and an operator of a hybrid fiber-coaxial cable in North America. It operates in 12 States along the East Coast in Canada under the trade name Cogeco in Quebec and Ontario and the United States through its subsidiary Breeze line.

Cogeco Offers:

Managed Wi-Fi

Employees, customers, guests, or residents can use Wi-Fi.

Connection up to 40 devices per access point

  • Wi-Fi management portal
  • Cat6 cabling
  • Maximum of 2,500 square feet coverage per access point
  • Installation of Wall or ceiling 

Ethernet Private Network

If you have multiple sites, you can take private Ethernet, which combines Fiber Cox technology with Fiber technology. It does not use the public internet, so it is secure, and you can control network speed and performance.

  • Email
  • Intranet
  • Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP)
  • Presentations, spreadsheets, and word-processing documents work.

Hosted PBX

PBX platform hosted by Cogeco is designed to keep your internal and external communication intact.

  • Auto-attendant
  • Anonymous call rejection
  • Call forwarding

High Speed Internet

It is used for video conferencing and sharing large files for businesses with more than five users. It has the following features.

  •  11,000 km of fibre optic cables
  •  Bit cap

Cogeco Business Phone Plans & Pricing

► Business Phone Bundles

Essential

Includes:

  • Long distance calling for $0.07/minute (Canada and USA)
  • Line Hunting

Pricing

  • Commitment Free: CA$49.95 /month for phone-only and CA$39.95 /month in a bundle
  • 3-year Commitment: CA$39.95 /month for phone-only and CA$29.95 /month in a bundle

Business Phone Premium

Includes:

  • 1,500 long distance minutes (Canada and USA)
  • Call display
  • Call forwarding
  • Call transfer

Pricing

  • Commitment Free: CA$79.95 /month for phone- only and CA$69.95 /month in a bundle
  • 3-year Commitment: CA$49.95 /month for phone-only and CA$39.95 /month in a bundle

Business Phone Complete

Includes:

  • Unlimited long distance calling (Canada and USA)
  • All calling features

Pricing

  • Commitment Free: CA$49.95 /month for phone- only and CA$79.95 /month in a bundle
  • 3-year Commitment: CA$59.95 /month for phone-only and CA$39.95 /month in a bundle

► Business Internet Bundles

Business UltraFibre 1Gig

  • Download Speed – up to 1Gbps
  • Data Usage - Unlimited

Pricing

  • 3-year Commitment: CA$149.95 /month for internet-only and CA$129.95 /month in a bundle
  • Commitment Free: CA$249.95 /month for internet- only and CA$249.95 /month in a bundle

Business UltraFibre 360

  • Download Speed – up to 360Mbps
  • Data Usage - Unlimited

Pricing

  • 3-year Commitment: CA$109.95 /month for internet-only and CA$99.95 /month in a bundle
  • Commitment Free: CA$199.95 /month for internet- only and CA$199.95 /month in a bundle

Business UltraFibre 120

  • Download Speed – up to 120Mbps
  • Data Usage - Unlimited

Pricing

  • 3-year Commitment: CA$109.95 /month for internet-only and CA$99.95 /month in a bundle
  • Commitment Free: CA$149.95 /month for internet- only and CA$149.95 /month in a bundle

Business UltraFibre 80

  • Download Speed – up to 80Mbps
  • Data Usage - Unlimited

Pricing

  • 3-year Commitment: CA$89.95 /month for internet-only and CA$79.95 /month in a bundle
  • Commitment-Free: CA$119.95 /month for internet- only and CA$119.95 /month in a bundle

Pros

  • New releases on demand
  • Go paperless with e-billing
  • Attractive bundles and pricing
  • Free standard installation

Cons

  • Reduction in internet speed
  • Slightly Expensive
  • Not able to deliver Static IP and Wi-Fi at the same time
  • Inconsistent ping issue

Editorial Verdict

You can choose Cogeco for small businesses and home internet services since the speed may be limited. Or else, if your organization or business is a well-established one, you can opt for other business phone service providers.

Cogeco Reviews Recently Reviewed!
Sort by:

Absolutely No customer service

May 2, 2022
Alfred Rob

System Engineer

4.75/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Checks all the basic boxes.

Cons: Had no choice than to switch.

Overall Experience:

It took several hours on the phone to multiple supervisors before finally having someone else arrive to do the job correctly. Absolutely No customer service and No understanding of what is going on.

Easy installation Cost saving Great sound quality

May 9, 2022
Alice Howard

Marketing Manager

4.25/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Staff and support staff is good.

Cons: May also qualify for discounts on your Internet package.

Overall Experience:

You may also be able to qualify for monthly rebates on your bill in your first 24 months or when you bundle your Internet with Cogeco TV or home phone services.

Amazed by Cocego Internet Service again and again.

April 13, 2022
Jack Hendersen

System Engineer

4.25/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Probably the best Internet/TV provider in Ontario. Internet speed is good.

Cons: Cable service is by far the most expensive. Skips and cuts out frequently.

Overall Experience:

Professional service, everything is well explained, always satisfied with the service thank you very much. I had it for 7 months. Internet speed was okay except for a 2,3 time shutdown.
But the customer service is sometimes not friendly. And also the services here are mediocre.

Cogeco customer

March 10, 2022
Sam psum

Manager

4/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros:

Cons:

Overall Experience:

I've been a Cogeco customer for 20 years. Time after time they suspend my account for being a few days past the due date!! If I had another choice I would choose it.

I can't figure out how .. but my last bill said I used 205GB beyond my allowance. That's a total of 475GB. There is no way I used that much. It cost me $227 extra.

The BEST decision I made was canceling with them.

May 9, 2022
Denice Blankenship

Model Crafter

4/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Call rarely drops down.

Cons: There are limited options for extras like wall-to-wall Wi-Fi coverage.

Overall Experience:

No customer service skills, highly incompetent, the reps are rude, they lie and hang up on you. The BEST decision I made was canceling with them.

More expensive plans can cost more

May 9, 2022
Elsie Webster

System Engineer

4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Call rarely drops down.

Cons: There are limited options for extras like wall-to-wall Wi-Fi coverage.

Overall Experience:

More expensive plans can cost more, but you’ll also get faster internet speeds. I wish it cost less. Some people manage to find it cheaper. The business phone service
is moderate.

Prices for your plan may increase during your subscription.

May 9, 2022
Ray Perez

Mechanical engineering technician

4/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Though higher speed plans are only available in certain areas.

Cons: May also qualify for discounts on your Internet package.

Overall Experience:

Their plans start at $79 per month and go up from there depending on how fast you want your Internet to be. You may also be able to qualify for monthly rebates on your bill in your first 24 months or when you bundle your Internet with Cogeco TV or home phone services.

Speeds are not as advertised.

May 2, 2022
Marley Ward

Bank Clerck

4/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Calm and collected staff and ready to support anyone.

Cons: Live chat isn’t always available

Overall Experience:

Don't even think of wasting time and money on this provider's network infrastructure and technical skills including ticketing systems and overall dispatch/communication.

Increased Internet Speed

March 10, 2022
Paul D

Owner

4/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
5/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros:

Cons:

Overall Experience:

I am amazed by Cocego Internet Service again and again!! I can't have enough about them. After one year, I signed up with Cocego; I got a letter in the mail stating that they wanted to inform me that they had increased my Internet Speed by double complimentary!! Then the other day, I called them because I was constantly going over my monthly bandwidth ( 60GB, the highest when compared to similar packages with other providers ). I asked her if she had anything else to offer me with higher bandwidth, so she started reading me a new plan they had just started with, and it would double my bandwidth ( 120GB ) double my speed ( 30Mbit/sec ). I was like, WOW, and how much is this going to cost me!? She told me $59-and I asked her how much I am paying now, $57.-!!!

Very poor customer service very poor product.

May 9, 2022
Peter Arnold

Digital Affairs Manager

3.75/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: You’ll only be able to pay on a month-to-month plan.

Cons: Internet plans are only available in a few areas.

Overall Experience:

They are clearly programmed to pretend there is nothing wrong for as long as possible during their frequent outages. Very poor customer service very poor product.

How does such a popular company consistently drop their connections?

May 2, 2022
Kate Rob

Business Owner

3.75/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: The staff were friendly, down to the point and activated everything

Cons: Their cable service is by far most expensive.

Overall Experience:

Their cable service is by far the most expensive and the absolute worst quality!!! It skips all the time, cuts out constantly and for internet and for 10 English channels and internet at $150 a month, it's a rip off!

Terrible customer services and product line.

May 9, 2022
Catharine Perry

Head Professor

3.75/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Call rarely drops down.

Cons: Their cable service is by far the most expensive.

Overall Experience:

Customer support is absolutely brutal. They are clearly programmed to pretend there is nothing wrong for as long as possible during their frequent outages. Very poor customer service very poor product.

Absolutely No customer service and No understanding of what is going on.

May 2, 2022
Nicky Griffiths

Associate

3.75/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Very kind and caring compassionate people.

Cons: Too expensive and dare to cancel and how rude they get.

Overall Experience:

Took several hours on the phone to multiple supervisors before finally having someone else arrive to do the job correctly. Absolutely No customer service and No understanding of what is going on.

Amazed by Cocego Internet Service

May 2, 2022
Alfred McCarthy

Production Manager

3.5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Can't rave enough about them

Cons: Their cable service is by far the most expensive and the absolute worst quality!!!

Overall Experience:

Took 5 phone calls to get Cogeco to stop billing me for the phone service I no longer have, claiming that they had never received the stop order from another agency I hired now for the phone. Stay away from Cogeco.

I had the worst experience with this provider.

May 9, 2022
Violet Gonzales

Bakery Owner

3.5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Staff and support staff is good.

Cons: Management is Non existent in this company

Overall Experience:

So far I had to go to the modem three times, unplug it, plug it back on, so we can get the internet back. Imagine 10 full days of this. Every time the new modem has a "glitch" the alarm panel gets disconnected. This is on top of you've been thrown out of the webpage you're in....or even a phone call.

Didn’t like it after a week and called them up to cancel.

May 9, 2022
Sidney Diaz

Fitness Trainer

3.5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Though higher speed plans are only available in certain areas.

Cons: Occasional distortion.

Overall Experience:

No customer service skills, highly incompetent, the reps are rude, they lie and hang up on you. The BEST decision I made was canceling with them.

Local call center is a real bonus.

May 2, 2022
Shawn Ferguson

Graphic Designer

3.5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Probably the best Internet/TV provider in Ontario. Internet speed is good.

Cons: Way too expensive because they are mostly the only ones in the area. They are so bad that poor customer service employees wont pick up calls anymore.

Overall Experience:

Maybe the best Internet/TV provider in Ontario. I've had my trials with them over the 30 or so years I've used them, but 9 times out of 10 they get it right. As for this particular location, I had to walk in there to exchange my modem to one that could handle the new speed. The staff were friendly, down to the point and activated everything on the spot.

Good service, but it’s time for them to add some more features, and have a better international calling plan.

May 2, 2022
Richie McCarthy

Graphic Designer

3.5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Cogeco provides inferior cable quality to high end boxes.

Cons: Poor customer service.They behave like a monopoly.

Overall Experience:

Their VOIP service has failed seven times for me in the last eighteen months. They are expensive. Their customer service is caustic. They added 'bandwidth surcharges' to internet service.

Customer service is not appropriate.

May 2, 2022
Robin Mathews

Digital Marketer

3.5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Staff and support staff is good.

Cons: Cable service is expensive.

Overall Experience:

A year after I signed up with Cogeco I suddenly got a letter in the mail stating that they wanted to inform me that they have increased my Internet Speed by double complementary!

Customer service is not good.

May 2, 2022
Thomas Fodor

Electronic Publisher

3.5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Internet rarely drops down.

Cons: Too expensive.

Overall Experience:

Don't even think of wasting time and money on this provider's network infrastructure and technical skills including ticketing systems and overall dispatch/communication.

I often refer to them for ease of use.

May 2, 2022
Floyd Shepard

Purchasing Agent

3.5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Quickly fixes the issue.

Cons: Their cable service is by far most expensive.

Overall Experience:

Took several hours on the phone to multiple supervisors before finally having someone else arrive to do the job correctly. Absolutely No customer service and No understanding of what is going on.

I am amazed by Cocego Internet Service again and again!!

May 2, 2022
Kate McCarthy

Business Owner

3.5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Cogeco has friendly staff, and down to the point

Cons: Poor connection, poor speed, modem range is horrible, no range on Second level.

Overall Experience:

I am with them now for over 2 years and I have yet to encounter an outage with them!!
As for this particular location, I had to walk in there to exchange my modem to one that could handle the new speed. The staff were friendly, down to the point and activated everything on the spot.

They have a poor documentation system to say the least.

May 2, 2022
Kevin Rob

Graphic Designer

3.5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: They always check all the basic boxes.

Cons: Too expensive and dare to cancel and how rude they get.

Overall Experience:

Local call center is a real bonus too. They are too expensive, but ALL Canadian tv/Internet companies are. I am amazed by the Cogeco Internet Service again and again!!

I got the fastest package.

May 2, 2022
Rina Ora

System Engineer

3.5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: A year after I signed up with Cogeco I suddenly got a letter in the mail stating that they wanted to inform me that they have increased my Internet Speed by double complementary!

Cons: Cogeco overcharged me.

Overall Experience:

They make old school appointments for techs to come to your house, 5 or 6 hour windows. As if we all have that much time. Got suckered by Cogeco sales to go for their introductory phone and TV package.

Ease of use.

May 2, 2022
Brenda Perez

Conference Interpreter

3.25/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
4/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Staff and support is good.

Cons: Live chat isn’t always available.

Overall Experience:

Can't rave enough about them. A year after I signed up with Cogeco I suddenly got a letter in the mail stating that they wanted to inform me that they have increased my Internet Speed by double complementary!

Internet goes down regularly

May 2, 2022
Eli Barnes

Marketing Manager

3.25/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: The rep quickly fixed the issue.

Cons: Sometimes the call quality is not the best.

Overall Experience:

Can't rave enough about them. A year after I signed up with Cogeco I suddenly got a letter in the mail stating that they wanted to inform me that they have increased my Internet Speed by double complementary!

If you’ve got a family all using Wi-Fi, watching Netflix, on YouTube, etc, you’ll be charged for hitting your cap in a matter of days.

May 2, 2022
Bob Loner

VP Marketing

3.25/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Doubled my speed

Cons: Technician again failed to show up.

Overall Experience:

It took several hours on the phone to multiple supervisors before finally having someone else arrive to do the job correctly. Absolutely No customer service and No understanding of what is going on.

Internet drops regularly.

May 2, 2022
Linda Cunningham

Instructional Coordinator

3/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Support
3/5
Features & Functionality
3/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros: Their cable service is by far most expensive.

Cons: Their cable service is by far most expensive.

Overall Experience:

Took several hours on the phone to multiple supervisors before finally having someone else arrive to do the job correctly. Absolutely No customer service and No understanding of what is going on.

High Speed Internet?

March 10, 2022
John P

MD

1.75/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Support
2/5
Features & Functionality
1/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend
Not Likely
Extremely Likely

Pros:

Cons:

Overall Experience:

Signed up because they offered much high speed internet for the same price.
But, Lagging literally writing this!!!!

  • FREE VoIP Quote in minutes!
  • Just a few more questions...
  • Let's get your name right.
  • We are preparing your quotes.

Get FREE VoIP Quote in minutes! Fill the details below

How many employees use the system:

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Company Name

Who gets the quotes:

First Name

Last Name

Where do we send them:

Email

Phone Number

4 Selected Item

  • Provider
  • Provider
  • Provider
  • Provider